First World Problems: Novocaine

Today I had the privilege of going to the dentist for the 3rd time in three weeks.  Yes.  Third Time.  Three Weeks.  Don’t hide it – you wish you were me.

But for serious. I moved six years ago and just now got around to finding a dentist in my “new” city.  Six years …. six lovely cavities.  Gross.

As I was reclined in the chair – singing 99-bottles-of-beer to distract myself from the whir of the dentists’ tools, the vibration of my jaw, and the ridiculous sensation that my tongue was wearing clown shoes – I realized that I truly was privileged to be in such a state.

I am blessed to be born in a time and place where I only have to experience mild discomfort in a hygienic environment as a seasoned professional cleans the teeth I chose to not adequately clean myself.

My irritation at the pinch of Novocaine is what we call a First World Problem.

My other First World Problems of the day:

  • Waking up groggy after staying up too late watching HBO on my tablet.
  • Having a slow internet connection because too many devices are connected to the wireless.
  • Tripping over my shoes because they won’t all fit in my closet.
  • Not having a big enough plate for all the food from the free lunch at work.  (Yes, that happened.  Today.)

Perspective is everything.

So, what were your First World Problems?

One thought on “First World Problems: Novocaine

Leave a Reply

